?

Log in

Previous Entry | Next Entry



Book 25: A Room with a View - E.M. Forster
8/10


In the vein of Frances Burney's Evelina, A Room with a View takes a humorous and altogether charming look at English countryside life versus London life, a young woman's journey to find her place in society and having to choose between two men in what is primarily a romance. While Evelina was boring, repetitive, outdated and tiresome, A Room with a View is everything but. It is filled with characters that jump off the page particularly Cecil and Charlotte. Even though Lucy is not very interesting, her lack of character is purposeful in that she is really discovering who she is throughout the book. While that has to do with, of course finding a man, the differences between Cecil ad George represent ways her individuality could have gone. The narration pays close attention to Lucy's reaction to all the things being said and her struggle to make a decision based on her own instincts and the reactions of those around her. The book is funny and full of wit with well drawn characters to boot. I cannot wait to see the film which should be arriving on Netflix on Thursday. Hopefully will read Howards' End later this year.